ANNUAL REPORT

 Open Door Mission
 Phone: 713-921-7520

 5803 Harrisburg
 Fax: 713-921-4206

Email: <u>tthompson@opendoorhouston.org</u> Website: <u>www.opendoorhouston.org</u>

OPEN DOOR MISSION'S MISSION AND ACCOMPLISHMENTS

2017

Our mission: The Open Door Mission is a faith and evidence based program and facility dedicated to transforming the lives of the most severely addicted, destitute, homeless and disabled men in the community.

Accomplishments:

- 1. On a daily basis we served, on average, 100 homeless men.
- 2. On an annual basis we served 102,000 meals.
- 3. Graduated from the 7-month Program: 44
- 4. Harris County Gold Card applicants approved: 143
- 5. Life skills session hours: 1,792
- 6. Spiritual Enrichment session hours: 1,633
- 7. Substance abuse education session hours: 2,298
- 8. Signed an Agreement with Harmony House to collaborate with 28 respite care beds for homeless men needing convalescing.
- 9. Registered 10,857 volunteer hours of serving ODM using 2,115 volunteers.
- 10. The Mission was awarded and received four (4) Rice University Jones Business School MBA Program Capstone Project students to work with ODM in their final semester to come up with a strategic plan for the future. The final result was implemented in 2017 with the reward coming in 2018.
 - a. Established an earned income catering business to train men in this business.
 - b. Created a Transitional Living Program for graduates of the substance abuse program permitting them to continue to live at ODM following graduation.
 - c. Created a Guidance Counseling Program for graduates and job placement.
- 11. Awarded a contract with the Harris County STAR (Success Through Addiction Recovery) Drug Court to accept men into the Program rather than incarceration.

Open Door Mission is tax-exempt under 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. Donations are tax-deductible to the extent allowed by law.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

2017-18

Marvin Chernosky, Chairman Larry McAfee, Vice Chairman Phil Gommels, Secretary Kevin Holt, Treasurer Ed Patterson, Past Chairman* Harper Jones, Past Chairman* Teddy Adams John Goss Marie Carlisle Lew Ten Have Cindy Ten Have Bill Cornelius-new 9/21/17

*Advisory Board

Drew Kanaly-2016 Vidal Martinez-2016 Dale Cheesman-2017 Richard Nelson-2016 Harper Jones-2017 Ed Patterson-2017 Michael Keating, MD Oliver Hunter, MD Buckminster Farrow, MD Kelly Rushing Dennis Clifford Steve Retzloff Larry Lehman Steve Kennedy Drew Riley-new 9/21/17 Timbo Brown Sandy Wilkens Clinton Fox

Executive Director

Tommy Thompson